Latest News
Follow Us
Image Alt


Eastern Mongolia is a region in Mongolia covering the provinces including Khentii, Dornod and Sukhbaatar. Those three provinces cover 286.1 thousand square km area. It occupies 18.2 percent of whole Mongolian area. It tends to more flat compared to other regions of Mongolia. Khentii province is the birth place of Chinggis Khan who established the Mongolian Empire.

Khentii province

Khentii province is known as the birth place of Chinggis Khan. It is located on eastern side of Mongolia. Its travel destinations are follow as:

Khar Zurkhnii Khuh nuur \Khar Zurkh Mountain and Khuh Lake\

Khar Zurkhnii Khuh Nuur is located on northwest of Tsenkhermandal soum of Khentii province. Khuh nuur or Khuh Lake \in Mongolian blue lake\ consists of two lakes that are connected underground, is located on south of Mount Khar Zurkh 1675m above sea level. In history, Temuujin was enthroned as a king of united tribes of Mongol and entitled as Chinggis Khan in 1189 or Rooster year. On the shore of the lake, there is a monument featuring Chinggis Khan, which was dedicated to 840th birthday of Chinggis Khan. Around the monument, there are woodcrafts of 36 royals or golden lineage kings.

Burkhan Khaldun Mountain

The Burkhan Khaldun is one of the Khentii Mountains in the Khentii Province of northeastern Mongolia. The mountain or its locality is believed to be the birthplace of Genghis Khan as well as his tomb. It is also the birthplace of one of his most successful generals, Subutai.

The mountain is part of the 12,000 square kilometers (4,600 sq mi) Khan Khentii Strictly Protected Area established in 1992. It had strong religious significance before Genghis Khan made it a powerful landmark and is considered the most sacred mountain in Mongolia since it was designated as sacred by Genghis Khan. It was inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site on 4 July 2015 under the title “Great Burkhan Khaldun Mountain and its surrounding sacred landscape.” Under a Presidential Decree of 1955 the worship of this mountain has been formalized and the mountain declared a national monument. Its ecosystem is complex with unique biodiversity with flora of the Central Asian steppe. It has 50 species of fauna and 253 species of birds.